Nelson unanimous all-state selection

Staff reports
Devils Lake's Grant Nelson goes up for a dunk attempt against Jamestown during a NDHSAA state basketball quarterfinal Thursday, March 12, 2020 in Fargo. Nelson was an unanimous all-state selection for Class A.

Devils Lake senior and North Dakota State University signee Grant Nelson was selected onto the Class A boys basketball first team unanimously by the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association announced Wednesday, March 25. Nelson, who averaged 23 points, 18 rebounds and six block shots per game in 2019-20 led the Firebirds to a fourth place finish in the Eastern Dakota Conference and a berth into the Class A state tournament.

Jamestown’s Boden Skunberg, who was also selected unanimously, joins Nelson on the first team for his second time. Jaxon Guniville (Minot), Elijah Klein (Mandan) and Cameron Van Dam (Davies) comprise the rest of the team.

Belquist, Kuntz highlight Shrine Bowl rosters

Devils Lake’s interior lineman Jack Kuntz, Austin Devier and Joey Frelich will represent Devils Lake at the 2020 North Dakota Shrine Bowl as the rosters were announced Wednesday. Kuntz, who play both on the offense and defensive line for the Firebirds, has signed to play for North Dakota. Joining him on the 11-man East roster is Langdon-Edmore-Munich’s Jackson Delvo and Jesse Fetsch.

Devier and Frelich were chosen as alternates along with Sean Gette of the Cardinals.

Class 2A champion, Hillsboro/Central Valley, got six players chosen for the game, including Player of the Year Oscar Benson, and Burros’ Scott Olsen was chosen to coach.

Bo Belquist lead four New Rockford-Sheyenne players selected for the 9-man East roster. Belquist, the Fighting Hawks commit, will be joined by teammates Nathan Holzwarth and Hunter Thompson. Nick Presell was chosen as an alternate. Rockets head Elliot Belquist was chosen to lead the 9-man East team. The Rockets finished with an 8-2 record.

Parker Frederick and Jon Haman of Nelson County were chosen, with Haman being designated as an alternate.

The Shrine Bowl is scheduled to be played on July 18 at Fargo South high school with the 11-man kicking off at 4 p.m. with the 9-man following.