School board election results made official

Sue Kraft, Lifestyles Editor

The Devils Lake school board met briefly on Thursday to go over the results of the election earlier this week.

Steve Halldorson and Veronica Nicla were elected to serve three year terms. The third candidate was current board president Ed Brown, who has been serving on the board for 12 years.

Halldorson garnered the most votes with 326. Nicla was close behind with 315 and Brown received 213.

Four candidates competed for the vacant one-year term. Lee Ann Johnston won the seat with 247 votes. Chris Schilken received 124, Marliss Platz collected 49 and Greg Volk received 45.

Six local residents were also named as write-in candidates, but none of them received more than one or two votes.

Also on the ballot was a measure to publish the school board meeting minutes in the official newspaper of the district, the Devils Lake Journal. It passed 412-28.

Superintendent Steve Swiontek said 481 total ballots were cast on Tuesday, 315 of them from city residents and 166 from rural.

“Small turnout,” commented board member Mike Klemetsrud.

“You tend to have a smaller turnout when it's not an election year,” Swiontek explained.

The board officially accepted the election results and briefly discussed the agenda items for the next regular meeting on Monday. Topics of discussion on Monday will include an agreement with NDSD, a request for out-of-country travel, coaches education program, personnel matters and a revised version of the attendance policy.