CCCC celebrates top students’ achievements

Staff Writer
Devils Lake Journal
Ermen Brown, Jr., acted as Master of Ceremonies for the CCCC awards ceremony and banquet held at the Spirit Lake Casino and Lodge Wednesday evening. The VFW Post No. 6547 presented the colors and eagle staff at the outset of the event.

No one stages a celebration better than the members of the Spirit Lake Nation and Cankdeska Cikana Community college. Thursday’s 2016 CCCC Student Awards Banquet held at the Spirit Lake Casino and Resort was no exception to that.

At tables set with fine white linens and crystal goblets the top students from the tribal college dined in style with their families and friends who support them.

Master of Ceremonies, Ermen Brown, Jr., kept the program moving forward after the VFW Post No. 6547 presented the colors and eagle staff, the Lake Region Singers leading them into the auditorium. Student Demrae Ami led the opening prayer in the Dakota language.

CCCC President Cynthia Lindquist welcomed everyone to the special event and reminded them of graduation which takes place at 2 p.m. on Friday in the CCCC amphitheater.

Clayton Peltier from Student Support Services was the first presenter.

Dixie Omen gave out the Financial Aid Awards.

Lorraine Greybear handed out the Dakota Language Awards.

Vern Lambert recognized the Dakota Studies Achievement Awards.

The Outstanding Academic Achievements in Pre-Engineering were given out by Michael Parker.

Student awards for carpentry and finish carpentry were handed out by Louie Garcia and Bob Sylling.

Art Carmona handed out the HVAC/R awards.

Brent Voels announced the Science Awards, Carrie Ann Duafala the Land Grant/Natural Resources Awards, Carol Greywater the achievements in art, Melody Volk the achievements in graphics and photography and Paul Keating recognized the commercial driver achievement awards.

Both the Fall and Spring Dean’s List were acknowledged by Teresa Harding and the Fall and Spring President’s List recognized by President Linquist as each student came forward to receive a plaque.

The ceremony concluded with the American Indian College Foundation (AICF) Student of the Year, AICF Faculty of the Year and the CCCC Employee of the Year all announced by President Lindquist.

Following the acknowledgements of all those who helped put the evening together Brown introduced the evening’s entertainment, Comedian Kasey Nicholson a.k.a. “Rezzalicious.”