DLPS honors employees, retirees and inductees into Hall of Fame

Staff Writer
Devils Lake Journal
Nine of the ten individuals retiring from the Devils Lake Public Schools were in attendance at the recognition event Wednesday afternoon. From left: Kathy Miller, Helen Jensen, Verna Brown, Phyllis Kadrmas, Rod Perry, Rick Grinsteiner, James Onerheim, Susan Swiontek and Gloria Rance. Not pictured: Judy Carlson.

The Devils Lake Sports Center gymnasium was transformed into a banquet hall Wednesday afternoon for the 18th annual Staff Recognition Program.

A lavish feast was spread the width of the hall courtesy Kathy Tweed and the Lake Area Career and Technology Center Culinary Arts students. The only problem? The plates were too small for those with hearty appetites.

Rick Neukom’s Central Middle School Strings students provided soothing music as the crowd gathered and enjoyed the treats.

Then Superintendent Scott Privratsky welcomed everyone and announced the employees being honored for their years of service.

Five years

Emily Ellingson, Barbara Fuhrer, Derek Gathman, Dale Halle, Jimmy Harris, Lisa Heck, Anthony Hoffart, Derryn Johnson, Nicole Johnson, Melissa Kitsch, Katin Kramer, Todd Lambrecht, Alex Lundon, Alanna Moger, Katie Ness, Shane Oakland, Barry Sundeen, Judy Wheeler and Patti Yoder.

Ten years

Nicole Anderson, Jean Baird, Kristi Bommersbach, Vickie Borho, Jolene Dahlen, Kim Daniels, Tyler Knutson, John McLaurin, Laura McLaurin, Chris Sommer, Connie Thomas, Jake Wateland and Allison Yoder.

Fifteen years

Chrystal Fritel, Sonia Knutson, Lori Olson, Sherri Ouellette, Kristel Peterson, Joan Ross, and Dan Wakefield.

Twenty years

Lyle Hoff, Vicky McMullen, Sheri Olson and Marsha Samson.

Twenty-five years

Sherry Boehmer and Tami Romine.

Thirty years

George Regan

Thirty five years

Beth Fiebiger

Educator Hall of Fame

For 2016 two individuals were inducted into the Educator Hall of Fame:

Al Huckell, who taught from 1982 to 2012.

Sam Johnson, who taught from 1980 - 1998 and 2001-2002.


Ten individuals are retiring at the end of this year:

Verna Brown from both the Middle School and the High School.

Judy Carlson, Central Middle School.

Rick Grinsteiner, Central Middle School.

Helen Jensen, High School.

Phyllis Kadrmas, High School.

Cathy Miller, Central Middle School.

James Onerheim, High School.

Rod Perry, High School.

Gloria Rance, Sweetwater Elementary School.

Susan Swiontek, Central Middle School.