Sweetwater School recognized for national Blue Ribbon award

Staff Writer
Devils Lake Journal
Sweetwater Elementary School principal Dr. Deb Follman welcomes dignitaries and the community gathered to recognize the school for receiving the national Blue Ribbon School award for 2014.

A sea of blue greeted those who attended Friday’s ceremony recognizing the national honor bestowed upon Devils Lake’s Sweetwater Elementary School.

The sea of blue, the 240 students in grades Kindergarten through Fourth, all in blue t-shirts were brimming over with excitement and energy as other dignitaries one by one shared their congratulations.

Leading off with his remarks was Sen. John Hoeven who enlisted some help from the Sweetwater students, themselves. He was followed by Superintendent Scott Privratsky, School Board president Steve Halldorson, Devils Lake Mayor Dick Johnson and others, including good wishes sent from Sen. Heidi Heitkamp and Rep. Kevin Cramer.

Sweetwater students entertained the crowd waving their blue pom poms and singing special musical numbers.