Firebirds finish 9th at EDC wrestling meet

Staff Writer
Devils Lake Journal
Joey Good in action on the mat in a recent meet.

Kamron Matejcek and Joey Good gave the Devils Lake Firebirds’ wrestling team more than a few reasons to smile on Saturday at the East Region Wrestling Tournament in Grand Forks. Both collected bronze medals by placing third in their respective weight divisions and helped the DL matmen finish ninth in the overall team standings.

As a team, Devils Lake had seven wrestlers finish in the top 10 in their divisions.

Good finished third in the 120-pound division by defeating Valley City’s Jake Ashline in the third-place matchup. His win came at the 4:51 mark of the contest.

Matejcek picked up the Firebirds’ second bronze of the meet by shining in the 285-pound bracket. He defeated Valley City’s Steven Horner at the 3:57 mark of their matchup.

Colton McAllister also turned in a solid outing at the meet, placing fifth in the 195-pound division. He defeated Fargo Davies’ Quinn Martin via a forfeit to claim fifth.

Devils Lake also picked up a seventh-place performance from Jagan Scott. He defeated Fargo Shanley’s Chris Krile to finish the meet on a high note.

The Firebirds picked up eighth-grade finishes from Jace Estenson, Logan Stein and Jayce Moor. Estenson suffered a 6-2 loss to Fargo Davies’ Alex Skaare in the seventh-place bout of the 113-pound division. Stein fell to Valley City’s Everett Komrosky, 12-8, in the 138-pound division’s seventh-place bout.

Moor lost to Valley City’s Mason Bjornson in the seventh-place matchup in the 160-pound bracket.

East Region tournament

In Grand Forks, Saturday

Team totals

West Fargo 302.5, Fargo Davies 189.5, GF Red River 187, Fargo North 141, Wahpeton 139, Valley City 136, GF Central 123, Fargo South 102, Devils Lake 62

Individual placers

106 pounds

Championship — Mario Bell, FS, over Marvin Berry, FS, 1:54; third — Keegan Cronin, WF, over Jared Franek, WF, 6-1; fifth — Gavin Lenoue, Wahp, over Keenan Morris, FD, forfeit; seventh — Cole McGough, VC, over Trey Larimer, RR, 15-0

113 pounds

Championship — Rodell Johnson, RR, over Reed Cronin, WF, 13-7; third — Tyler Keener, GFC, over Brandon Hanson, GFC, injury default; fifth — Alex Skaare, FD, over Jace Estenson, DL, 6-2; seventh — Dylan Dahlstrom, RR, over Logan Erlandson, VC, 11-1

120 pounds

Championship — Tom Walton, FN, over Juan Rodriquez, WF, 12-3; third — Joey Good, DL, over Jake Ashline, VC, 4:51; fifth — Jacob Berg, Wahp, over Tyler Young, GFC, 3:44; seventh — Anthony Nemer, FD, over Abdi Khaman, FS, 3:55

126 pounds

Championship — Jordan Shearer, WF, over Sean Murphy, RR, 12-2; third — Bryce Burnside, FD, over Logan Meyer, Wahp, forfeit; fifth — Esham Moses, FN, over Rashidi Kikopa, FS, 1:52; seventh — Anthony Lamberson, GFC, over Jamison Richter, RR, 5-0

132 pounds

Championship — Trevor Kringlie, WF, over Michael Bell, FS, 3-1; third — Jesse Shearer, WF, over Mark Miller, VC, 8-0; fifth — Jacob Thiel, Wahp, over Chase Christen, RR, forfeit; seventh — Anthony Coronato, FN, over Dillon Finch, FD, 9-4

138 pounds

Championship — Cole Mehring, FD, over Kollin Kragnes, WF, 3-1; third — Samuel Berntson, FN, over Garrett Litzinger, GFC, 3:37; fifth — Malek Larimer, RR, over Logan Rhode, FS, 8-4; seventh — Everett Komrosky, VC, over Logan Stein, DL, 12-8

145 pounds

Championship — Weston Dobler, WF, over Wyatt Meyer, Wahp, 3-2; third — Shane Undem, VC, over Gunar Hanevold, RR, 18-3; fifth — Blake Brandon, GFC, over Augustus Siaway, FS, 10-6; seventh — Clint Wagemann, FN, over Mitchell Moe, FD, 4:37

152 pounds

Championship — Bryce Fish, GFC, over Anjelo Shepherd, WF, 3-2; third — Kyle Kragnes, WF, over Colt Goulet, RR, 1:10; fifth — Peter Isakson, FD, over Tyler Deitemeyer, FS, 2:36; seventh — Kyle Bjugstad, Wahp, over Evan Carroll, VC, 7-3

160 pounds

Championship — Shelby Schulz, WF, over Cole Alexander, FD, 5-3; third — Kameron McNary, Wahp, over Caleb Worral, FN, 6-5; fifth — Spencer Oen, GFC, over Ben Trenne, RR, 9-0; seventh — Mason Bjornson, VC, over Jayce Moor, DL, 0:56

170 pounds

Championship — Zach Doty, VC, over Darren Crissler, FD, 3:58; third — Tanner Kuznia, WF, over Jeremiah Goodman, FN, 2-1; fifth — Spencer Edwardson, Wahp, over Alex Sondreal, RR, 13-1; seventh — Colton Rohrich, FD, over Parker Brekhus, FS, 14-6

182 pounds

Championship — Preston Lehmann, WF, over Zander Mairs, FD, 0:28; third — Kyle Terrill, GFC, over Jordan Magnuson, VC, 5-3; fifth — Gavin Rook, FN, over Nathan Aamold, FN, forfeit; seventh — Hunter McCall, Wahp, over Brandon Glimsdahl, GFC, 4:32

195 pounds

Championship — Jared Bertsch, RR, over Cody Nielson, FS, 3:41; third — Nick Kjera, FD, over Nathan Mugavero, WF, 8-5; seventh — Colton McAllister, DL, over Quinn Martin, FD, forfeit; seventh — Dustin Lindgren, VC, over Nick Escobar, GFC, 5-2

220 pounds

Championship — Zach Eider, WF, over Olaf Hanson, FN, 5-4; third — Josh Deike, Wahp, over Ryan Oster, RR, 2:57; fifth — David Kjera, FD, over Wyatt Bjornson, VC, 1:08; seventh — Jagan Scott, DL, over Chris Krile, FS, 2:48

285 pounds

Championship — Bryan Bjerk, RR, over Hunter Swensen, FD, 9-1; third — Kamron Matejcek, DL, over Steven Horner, VC, 3:57; fifth — Tyler Ringdahl, Wahp, over Cody Berg, FN, 5-1; seventh — Brandon Metz, WF, over Dan Spah, GFC, 8-2

Senior athlete of the year — Preston Lehmann, West Fargo

Coach of the year — Keenan Spiess, Davies