Another ND county added to disaster list

Associated Press

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — Gov. Jack Dalrymple said Burleigh County has been added to the list of counties covered by a flood disaster declaration issued by President Obama in early May.

The declaration because of flood damage from the Missouri River makes federal aid available to supplement state and local recovery efforts.

The president's original disaster declaration covered 39 counties as well as the Spirit Lake Nation, the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation.

The governor said he has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency to conduct a preliminary assessment of flood damage from the Little Missouri River in Divide and Billings counties.