Team #48 wins Casino Cup Walleye Tourney at Spirit Lake

Louise Oleson
DLJ editor
Devils Lake Journal

100 teams of three compete in one-day tourney.

The first of a series of four one-day walleye fishing tournaments was held Saturday, June 6 in Devils Lake at the Spirit Lake Marina.

Team number 48 won that tournament and took home $12,000. It was comprised of Jason Mitchell, Jason Votava and Tayler Michels. They reeled in five walleye for a total weight of 31.71 lbs.

Second place, $5,000 winners, were Cody Armstrong, Shelby Vasichek and Joe Armstrong with a total of 26.25 lbs.

Third place and $3,000 went to Larry Zimmerman, Lynn Jurrens and Mike Gibbs for 23.60 lbs.

Fourth place and $2,500, went to Sheldon Meidinger, James Massen and Robert Crow for 23.48 lbs.

Fifth place and $2,000 went to Damian Huettl, Leon Leier and Jeff Enziminger for 23.44 lbs.

Sixth place and $1,200 went to Randy Stark, Ryan Gjerke and Troy Morris for 22.95 lbs.

Seventh place and $1,000 went to Shawn Schmidt, Marcus Quam and Ryan Busche for 22.72 lbs.

Eighth place and $900 went to Brent Mareska, Brad Mareska and Tyler Mareska for 22.49 lbs. They also brought in the largest walleye weighing 9.25 lbs.

Ninth place and $800 went to Matt Taylor and Steve Pederson for 21.23 lbs.

Places 10 through 20 each took home $300.

The entry fee for each team of two to three anglers was $350. The next leg of the Walleye Circuit will be held in Mobridge, SD, on July 11, on August 1 it goes to New Town, ND, and Sept. 12 it will be at Fort Yates, ND, with the final Big Show on Sept. 26 back at Spirit Lake Casino and Resort.