The expected matchup of region powers came to pass as Carrington and Lakota-Adams-Edmore survived the first two days of the annual Lake Region Invitational at the Devils Lake Sports Center.

By Ray Maloney Journal Sports Editor The expected matchup of region powers came to pass as Carrington and Lakota-Adams-Edmore survived the first two days of the annual Lake Region Invitational at the Devils Lake Sports Center. The title game also lived up to its billing as the Cardinals defeated the Raiders 51-40. Kayla Hochhalter, the tournament’s most valuable player, scored 12 points to lead Carrington and Breana Barton added 10 points in the winning effort for the Cardinals, who slipped past North Star 54-53 in one semifinal game on Friday. Jacey Engelhorn and Nikki Braaten both added nine points for Carrington. Fallyn Freije scored 23 points to lead the Raiders in that department. She was the only L-A-E player to reach double digits in the championship game and also landed a spot on the all-tournament team. Freije, a sophomore, scored the 1,000th point of her varsity career in Thursday’s opening round win over the Devils Lake junior varsity. L-A-E 10 9 12 9 — 40 Carrington 15 15 6 15 — 51 L-A-E (40): Fallyn Freije 23, Mary Haman 5, Ashtin Freije 5, Montana Halberg 3, Raevyn Pesek 2, Alyssa Turner 2. Carrington (51): Kayla Hochhalter 12, Breana Barton 10, Jacey Engelhorn 9, Nikki Braaten 9, Hannah Lipetzsky 6, Josey Page 4. Third Place North Star 53, Devils Lake JV 39 Allie Heisler and Sarah Hagler both scored four points in a pivotal second period as North Star emerged from a 13-13 deadlock after the opening quarter of play and went on to down the Devils Lake junior varsity 53-39 to claim third place in the tournament. Kelsey Teubner lead the Bearcats with 17 points and Hagler finished the game with 13 points and both were selected to the all-tournament team. Emily Schafer led the young Firebirds with nine points and also landed a spot on the all-tournament squad. Devils Lake JV 13 8 6 12 — 39 North Star 13 15 8 17 — 53 Devils Lake JV (39): Emily Schafer 9, McKenzie Hartl 6, Jordyn Buckmeier 6, Jadyn Fee 6, Madison Eriksson 6, Miriah Yoder 4, Hannah Pesek 2. North Star (53): Kelsey Teubner 17, Sarah Hagler 13, Allie Heisler 8, Megan Gowan 6, Jessica Teubner 6, Laura Oakland 3. Fifth Place Drayton-V-E 53, Munich-Starkweather 48 Drayton-Valley-Edinburg got 23 points from standout Kadee Gullickson and Ashley Reilly also finished in double digits with 11 points as the Titans slipped past Munich-Starkweather 53-48 in the consolation championship game D-V-E led 37-35 heading into the final period, but the Titans got seven points from Gullickson and five from Reilly as part of a 16-13 run over the final eight minutes to secure the win. Kaylee Anderson and Bobbie Bertsch both scored 13 points to lead the Magic Storm. M-S 10 11 14 13 — 48 Drayton-V-E 15 10 12 16 — 53 M-S (48): Kaylee Anderson 13, Bobbie Bertsch 13, Kaisa Morstad 10, Casey Harder 8, Erica Kitsch 4. Drayton-V-E (53): Kadee Gullickson 23, Ashley Reilly 11, Courtney Estad 7, Alex Braathen 6, Shayna Phelps 4, Kayla O’Toole 2. Seventh Place Four Winds-Minnewaukan 50, Dakota Prairie 35 Trenda Littleghost, who earned a spot on the all-tournament team, scored a game-high 20 points and teammate Cathy Santos added 14 points as Four Winds-Minnewaukan defeated Dakota Prairie 50-35 to claim seventh place in the tournament. Paige Dahl scored 12 points to lead the Knights. Dakota Prairie 13 7 5 10 — 35 FW-M 11 10 17 12 — 50 Dakota Prairie (35): Paige Dahl 12, Madysen Kouba 9, Sam Bye 4, Haily Monsebroten 4, Jordyn Janke 2, Carleigh Stein 2, Emma Poehls 2. FW-M (50): Trenda Littleghotst 20, Cathy Santos 14, Cherilyn Cloud 6, Bethany Yankton 4, C. Santos 2, Drew DeMarce 2, Demrae Ami 2. All-Tournament Team Carrington — Kayla Hochhalter, Josey Page. Devils Lake JV — Emily Schafer. Drayton-Valley-Edinburg — Kadee Gullickson. Four Winds-Minnewaukan — Trenda Littleghost. Lakota-Adams-Edmore — Ashtin Freije, Fallyn Freije. Munich-Starkweather — Kaylee Anderson. North Star — Sarah Hagler, Kelsey Teubner. Free Throw Contest Winner Ashtin Freije, L-A-E Most Valuable Player Kayla Hochhalter, Carrington