Recognized leaders in the development of effective teachers presented at an area K-12 in service August 15th.

Recognized leaders in the development of effective teachers presented at an area K-12 in service August 15th.

The Northeast Education Services Cooperative, which serves area school districts and is one of eight similar organizations in North Dakota brought Drs. Harry and Rosemary Wong to its regional fall in-service activities August 15.
“More than 600 area teachers, support staff and administrators attended the event,” said Erin Lacina, Succeed 2020 Project Director for NESC. It’s the largest attendance at an NESC in-service.

Harry and Rosemary Wong are teachers and have spoken to over one million educators worldwide.  
They are the authors of the bestselling book in education worldwide, The First Days of School, with more than 3.8 million copies sold.  Harry is the recipient of the Horace Mann Outstanding Educator Award and the only recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Recognition from the National Teachers Hall of Fame.  Rosemary received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the School of Education at Southeastern Louisiana University and Louisiana State University.

The Wongs were nominated for the Brock International Prize in Education and are the recognized leaders in the development of effective teachers.  They have influenced the lives of hundreds of thousands of teachers, have helped transform thousands of schools into effective schools, and have built and sustain a school in the jungles of Cambodia.

The NESC also brought Dr. Phil Warrick to the regional fall in-service. He worked with school leadership teams in the morning on the first three levels of the Marzano High Reliability Schools framework. He then spent the afternoon with all teachers and administrators diving deep into Effective Teaching in Every Classroom.
Warrick, is associate vice president of Marzano Research Laboratory. He was an award-winning administrator in Nebraska for nearly 12 years, most recently as principal of Round Rock High School, which serves nearly 3,000 students. Dr. Warrick has been an adjunct professor at Peru State College since 2005.

Member schools in the NESC include Dakota Prairie, Devils Lake, Edmore, Four Winds, Lakota, Langdon, Leeds, Maddock, Minnewaukan, Munich, New Rockford-Sheyenne, North Star, Oberon, Rolette, St. Alphonsus Elementary, St. Joseph’s Elementary, Starkweather, Tate Topa Tribal School, Warwick, and Wolford. Lake Region Special Education and Lake Region State College are cooperating members. Cankdeska Cikana Community College,  Lake Area Career & Technology Center,  Minot State University, North Dakota School for the Deaf, Train ND Northeast, and UND are collaborative partners.