Cankdeska Cikana Community College (CCCC) is proud to recognize Allura LaRoque and Craig Brown, Jr. for being named to the 2013 All-North Dakota Academic Team.

Cankdeska Cikana Community College (CCCC) is proud to recognize Allura LaRoque and Craig Brown, Jr. for being named to the 2013 All-North Dakota Academic Team. They were honored at a dinner and awards ceremony held Thursday, March 7, 6 p.m., at Bismarck State College, National Energy Center of Excllence. Twelve North Dakota community college students were named to the 2013 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. LaRoque and Brown were given a certificate of congratulations from Governor Dalrymple, a certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. In addition, each person is eligible for scholarships from Valley City State University, University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, University of Mary and Jamestown College.

Each two-year college in North Dakota may nominate two students per campus to the All-USA Academic Team. Students from North Dakota nominated to the national team comprise the All-North Dakota Academic Team Academic Team. Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community.

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said Hamid A. Shirvani, chancellor of the North Dakota University System. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that both the students and their colleges can be proud of. Clearly, students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and CTEC, the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Cankdeska Cikana Community College
The College is named in honor of Cankdeska Cikana (Little Hoop), the Dakota name of Paul Yankton, Sr., PFC, who served with the United States Army's 11th Infantry at Lorraine, France, and was the recipient of two Purple Hearts. He was killed in action on November 29, 1944. Cankdeska Cikana was a proud Dakota warrior who believed in self-responsibility and the need for education opportunities for Native people.

CCCC is chartered by the Spirit Lake Dakota Nation, with a five-member Board of Regents appointed by the Spirit Lake Tribal Council. The Board of Regents is empowered via the Charter, to grant degrees to qualified applicants upon the completion of the Board approved curriculum in compliance with HLC, NCA. The Board of Regents formulates and implements administrative policies and procedures for the operation of the institution.

CCCC is accredited through The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA) and is a member of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) and the North Dakota Association of Tribal Colleges (NDATC).