Devils Lake Journal - Devils Lake, ND
  • Walford named to All-EDC basketball team

  • Madison Walford proved she was one of the top young stars in North Dakota.
    • email print
  • Madison Walford proved she was one of the top young stars in North Dakota. All the junior did was help carry the Devils Lake High School Firebirds’ girls basketball team into the Eastern Dakota Conference postseason tournament, and then to within 48 minutes of the Class A state basketball tournament this season.
    For her efforts, the Devils Lake standout was honored as one of the EDC’s top players following the conclusion of the tournament last week in Fargo. Walford was among 15 players selected to the All-EDC roster by the league’s coaches.
    A 6-foot-1 center, Walford helped the DLHS girls advance to the EDC tournament as the No. 6 seed by posting an all-star year. During the 2012-13 campaign, she finished among the EDC leaders in several categories this season, including points per game and rebounding.
    For the season, Walford finished in a tie for sixth in the EDC in scoring averaged, tallying 14.3 points per game in the Lady Firebirds’ 22 games. Teammate Christa Lynse also scored 271 points and matched her 14.3 scoring effort. She also ranked ninth in the EDC in free throw accuracy, and dished out 2.4 assists per game.
    Defensively, Walford gave Devils Lake a solid rebounder in the paint. As a junior, she finished sixth in the EDC in boards, grabbing 152 rebounds.
    Walford was one of only six underclassmen named to the All-EDC roster, joining Fargo Davies’ Alexis Bolstad and Katelyn Olson, Shanley’s Sarah Jacobson,Wahpeton’s Lachelle Bumgarner and West Fargo’s Cass Thorson.
    Jacobson was the only freshman selected to the All-EDC squad.
    Fargo North’s Kira Larson was named the EDC’s Player of the year following a breakout season. En route to leading her team to third in the EDC regular season standings, Larson averaged 15.9 points and a league-high 14.7 rebounds per game.
    Shanley’s Tim Jacobson was tabbed the conference’s Coach of the Year.
    2013 All-EDC Team
    Player Team
    Madison Walford Devils Lake
    Alixis Borstad Fargo Davies
    Katelyn Olson Fargo Davies
    Kira Larson Fargo North
    Madeline Strandemo Fargo South
    Taylor Hammer GF Central
    Nicole LaDouceur GF Red River
    Ellie Ripplinger GF Red River
    Sarah Jacobson Shanley
    Kelly Weir Shanley
    Jessica Anderson Shanley
    Lachelle Bumgarner Wahpeton
    Christine Baltezore West Fargo
    Cass Thorson West Fargo
    Lexi Lennon West Fargo
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar